Eurofighter supplies Spain with 20 combat aircraft

Backbone of German air defence

At ILA Berlin representatives of Eurofighter, the NATO Eurofighter 2000 and Tornado Management Agency (NETMA) and Eurojet Turbo signed the Halcón agreement, which aims to modernise Spain’s fleet of Eurofighters and Typhoons by supplying 20 new combat aircraft.

Eurofighter is selling 20 combat aircraft to the Spanish Air Force. That is set out by the Halcón agreement, which Carlo Mancusi, CEO Eurofighter Combat Aircraft, Lt. Gen. Miguel Martín Pérez, General Manager NETMA and Gerhard Bähr, CEO Eurojet, signed at ILA Berlin. High-ranking figures from the military, industry and diplomatic corps representing the core Eurofighter nations took part in the ceremony. 

The agreement says that Spain will receive 16 single-seater and four two-seater combat aircraft. These are equipped with electronic E-Scan radar systems and will replace part of the ageing F-18 aircraft fleet. It means that Spain’s Eurofighter fleet will increase to 90. The aircraft are equipped with future-proof hardware and software, similar to those of the German Quadriga programme, which was signed in 2020. To enable the aircraft to engage with ground and air targets its multi-role characteristics have been expanded.
 
Backbone of German air defence

For Carlo Mancusi, CEO Eurofighter Combat Aircraft, today’s announcement was good news for many reasons. In particular it signalled the ongoing commitment of the four core partner nations to the future of the Eurofighter Typhoon. This mandate ensured that the Eurofighter would remain the backbone of European air defence for many years to come and supported Europe’s aerospace industry. Gerhard Bähr emphasised that the mandate strengthened European defence capabilities while providing long-term security for numerous highly skilled jobs in Europe’s aerospace industry.
 
The first aircraft under the Halcón agreement will be delivered in 2026. The Eurofighter Typhoon’s technical features ensure it will remain in service far beyond 2060. As a result, it forms an integral part of Europe’s air combat environment of the future.
 
The Eurofighter represents Europe’s largest defence programme. Germany, the UK, Italy and Spain are the main partners in Europe. In addition to its technological capabilities it secures more than 100,000 jobs in 400 companies across Europe. To date, 680 Eurofighters have been sold to nine countries around the world.
 

eurofighter_typhoon

Eurofighter liefert 20 Kampfjets an Spanien

Modernisierung von Spaniens Eurofighter-Typhoon-Flotte mit 20 neuen Kampfjets

Auf der ILA Berlin unterzeichneten Vertreter von Eurofighter, der NATO-Agentur für EF2000- und Tornado-Entwicklung, -Produktion und -Logistikmanagement (NETMA) sowie Eurojet Turbo den Halcón-Vertrag. Er sieht eine Modernisierung von Spaniens Eurofighter-Typhoon-Flotte mit 20 neuen Kampfjets vor.

20 Kampfjets verkauft Eurofighter an die spanische Luftwaffe. Das legt der Halcón-Vertrag fest, den Carlo Mancusi, CEO Eurofighter Jagdflugzeug, Lt. Gen. Miguel Martín Pérez, General Manager NETMA und Gerhard Bähr, CEO Eurojet, auf der ILA Berlin unterzeichneten. Hochrangige Vertreter von Militär, Industrie und Diplomatie aus den Eurofighter-Kernländern nahmen an der Zeremonie teil.

Der Vertrag sieht vor, dass Spanien 16 einsitzige und vier zweisitzige Kampfflugzeuge erhält. Sie sind mit elektronischem Radar, dem sogenannten E-Scan ausgestattet. Sie werden einen Teil der alten F-18-Flotte ersetzen. Die spanische Eurofighter-Flotte wird damit auf 90 Flugzeuge anwachsen. Ebenso wie die Flugzeuge des 2020 unterzeichneten deutschen Quadriga-Programms sind diese Modelle mit zukunftssicherer Hardware und Software ausgestattet. Zur Bekämpfung von Luft- und Bodenzielen verfügen sie über eine noch breitere Mehrrollenfähigkeit.

Rückgrat der europäischen Luftverteidigung

Für Carlo Mancusi, CEO Eurofighter Jagdflugzeug, ist die heutige Ankündigung aus vielen Gründen eine gute Nachricht. Vor allem signalisiere es das anhaltende Engagement eines der vier Kernpartnerländer für die Zukunft des Eurofighter Typhoon. Der Auftrag stelle sicher, dass der Eurofighter noch viele Jahre lang das Rückgrat der europäischen Luftverteidigung bilden werde und unterstütze die europäische Luft- und Raumfahrtindustrie. Gerhard Baehr unterstrich, dass der Auftrag die europäische Verteidigungsfähigkeit stärke und zugleich langfristig eine Reihe von hochqualifizierten Arbeitsplätzen in der europäischen Luft- und Raumfahrtindustrie sichere.

Das erste Halcón-Flugzeug wird im Jahr 2026 ausgeliefert. Die technischen Fähigkeiten des Eurofighter Typhoon ermöglichen eine Lebensdauer weit über das Jahr 2060 hinaus und somit eine vollständige Integration in das künftige Luftkampfumfeld Europas.

Der Eurofighter ist das größte europäische Verteidigungsprogramm. Deutschland, Großbritannien, Italien und Spanien sind die wichtigsten europäischen Partner. Zusätzlich zu den technologischen Fähigkeiten sichert es mehr als 100.000 Arbeitsplätze in 400 europäischen Unternehmen. Bislang wurden 680 Eurofighter-Flugzeuge an neun Länder in aller Welt verkauft.

eurofighter_typhoon