Alliance for Zero Emission Aviation launches at ILA Berlin

At ILA Berlin Thierry Breton, European Commissioner for Internal Market, officially launched the Alliance for Zero Emission Aviation, a new EU initiative and part of the European Commission’s Fit for 55 programme. Taking part in the event on the Aviation Future Lab Stage were BDLI President and CEO of Airbus Defence and Space Michael Schöllhorn together with his French counterpart Guillaume Faury from Groupement des Industries Françaises Aéronautiques et Spatiales (GIFAS), who is also CEO of Airbus SE.

Commissioner Breton, who attended by video link from Brussels, presented the airline and airport alliance as the EU clearly positioning itself to take over long-term leadership on the way to climate-neutral aviation. “In addition to being a commitment to protect the environment it is also a unique opportunity for Europe’s aviation industry“, Breton added. The alliance’s aim was to identify and prioritise the challenges of introducing climate-neutral aircraft and assist with implementing practical solutions. Breton: “Thus the alliance represents a key to the sector’s economic future.“ Additional large investments were still needed, but they were already beginning to pay off with tangible results and technology. “Only under a joint alliance can private and public sector actors make aviation fully climate-neutral. It means big challenges ahead. However, they can be overcome together.”

Guillaume Faury stressed the need for visions to finally become reality. “I am convinced that aviation can still bestow great benefits and wealth upon society, but for that to continue it urgently needs to become climate-neutral. A lot has to be achieved before the first hydrogen-powered aircraft, due in 2035, can be launched, and the alliance offers an excellent path to that end.“ Referring to the exhibitors in Hall 4 at ILA, Michael Schöllhorn added that many larger and smaller companies and BDLI members were together striving to achieve the goal of climate neutrality, and said: “Sustainability and safety go hand in hand.“ He quoted the example of an A400M transporter of the Luftwaffe partially operating on synthetic fuels as a further small step in that common direction.

start_der_alliance_for_zero_emission

Start der „Alliance for Zero Emission Aviation“ auf der ILA Berlin

Anlässlich der ILA Berlin hat Thierry Breton, der EU-Kommissar für Binnenmarkt und Dienstleistungen die neue EU-Initiative, die „Alliance for Zero Emission Aviation“ als Teil des EU-Kommissions-Programms „Fit for 55“ offiziell ins Leben gerufen. Auf der Aviation Future Lab Stage präsent waren dabei BDLI-Präsident und CEO von Airbus Defence and Space, Michael Schöllhorn sowie dessen französisches Pendant Guillaume Faury von GIFAS (Groupement des Industries Françaises Aéronautiques et Spatiales), im Hauptberuf Vorstandsvorsitzender von Airbus SE.

Kommissar Breton, der per Video aus Brüssel zugeschaltet war, präsentierte die Allianz aus Fluglinien und Flughäfen als klares Signal für die Position der EU, langfristig die Führerschaft bei klimaneutraler Luftfahrt zu übernehmen. „Dies bedeutet nicht nur die Verpflichtung zum Umweltschutz, sondern auch eine einzigartige Chance für die europäische Luftfahrtindustrie“, so Breton weiter. Ziel der Allianz sei es, Herausforderungen für die Einführung klimaneutraler Flugzeuge zu identifizieren und zu priorisieren sowie dabei behilflich zu sein, praktische Lösungsansätze umzusetzen. Breton: „Damit ist die Allianz ein Schlüssel für die wirtschaftliche Zukunft des Sektors.“ Hohe Investitionen seien weiter erforderlich, begännen aber bereits, sich durch greifbare Ergebnisse und Technologien auszuzahlen. „Private und öffentliche Akteure können nur als gemeinsame Allianz die ganze Luftfahrt klimaneutral machen. Das bedeutet große Herausforderungen, die aber gemeinsam gemeistert werden können.“

Guillaume Faury betonte anschließend die Notwendigkeit, endlich von der Vision zur Aktion überzugehen. „Ich bin davon überzeugt, dass die Luftfahrt der Gesellschaft weiter großen Nutzen und Wohlstand bringen kann, dafür aber dringend klimaneutral werden muss. Bis zum ersten mit Wasserstoff betriebenen Flugzeug, das 2035 an den Start gehen soll ist noch viel zu tun, aber die Allianz bietet dazu einen fantastischen Weg.“ Michael Schöllhorn ergänzte mit Blick auf die ILA-Halle 4, dass viele große und kleine Unternehmen und BDLI-Mitglieder gemeinsam auf das Ziel der Klimaneutralität ausgerichtet seien. Und weiter: „Nachhaltigkeit und Sicherheit bedingen einander.“ Als weiteren kleinen Schritt zu deren Vereinbarkeit nannte er den teilweisen Betrieb eines A400M-Transportflugzeugs der Luftwaffe mit synthetischem Treibstoff.

start_der_alliance_for_zero_emission