GROB-WERKE GmbH & Co. KG

Aerospace – Highly Specialized Area of Application for G-modules

Reliable, efficient and incredibly precise – with its production quality and repetition accuracy, the innovative 5-axis universal machining center from GROB ideally fulfills the high standards of companies from the aerospace industry in cutting to perfection complex and extremely stable components.

 

In the aerospace industry, both aluminium as well as materials that are difficult to cut, such as titanium or heat-resistant steel alloys, are machined. Thanks to their compact design, high productivity and precision, as well as their optimum accessibility, the universal machining center from GROB is perfectly suited as a milling or mill-turn machining center for aerospace companies.

High quality with optimum efficiency

In view of the high costs for blanks and the strict tolerances, components in the aerospace industry must be produced in the highest quality right from the very start. The comprehensible documentation of the machining parameters and of the quality characteristics represents a particular challenge for safety components. The batch sizes are relatively small here, which requires the machines and systems to be highly flexible and easy to set up – features that the G-module series provides. In hardly any other industry is the balancing act between economic efficiency and process reliability greater than in aerospace technology. The GROB engineers have taken on this challenging complexity and, in developing the powerful universal machining center series, have created the ideal machines to fulfill these criteria while also meeting the individual requirements of the customer. When it comes to the different, specific requirements, it is worth taking a close look in order to make the best choice for a suitable machine solution.

Highly dynamic spindles for a wide range of materials

The highest cutting volumes in aluminium processing are achieved using powerful motorized spindles with rotational speeds of up to 30,000 rpm. Using optimized linear and rotary axis drives, our machining centers achieve the highest path velocities, also in 5-axis simultaneous machining. The high-torque motorized spindles are used in the heavy-duty cutting of superalloys. Coolant systems with frequency-controlled high-pressure pumps guarantee a reliable process. Perfect chip disposal thanks to the horizontal arrangement of the spindles and optional overhead machining make the G-series unique.

Working on Turbine Blades on a G350 – Generation 2

From an individual machine, through automated and interlinked systems, as well as from specialized systems to turnkey processes, GROB provides the aerospace industry with the right concept. The G350, G550 and G750 universal machining center series, optionally available with a turning function, provide an extremely broad range of application for aerospace components up to a diameter of 1,280 mm.

The innovative 5-axis universal machining center from GROB enables customers from the aerospace industry to cut to perfection complex and extremely stable components with a wide range of requirements, such as turbine blades, structural components, structural housing or brake flap fittings.

GROB Product Stories

Discover our highlights in the video.

We are there for you even in times of limited contact options! GROB Product Stories give you regular digital insights into our latest innovations and products. Learn more about our solutions for effective and flexible production in our videos.

GROB-WERKE GmbH & Co. KG

Aerospace - Hochspezielles Anwendungsgebiet für G-Module

Zuverlässig, effizient und hochpräzise – die innovativen 5-Achs-Universalmaschinen von GROB erfüllen mit ihrer Produktionsqualität und Wiederholgenauigkeit in idealer Weise den hohen Anspruch von Unternehmen aus der Luft- und Raumfahrt für eine perfekte Zerspanung komplexer und extrem stabiler Bauteile.

 

In der Luft- und Raumfahrtindustrie werden sowohl Aluminiumwerkstoffe als auch schwer zerspanbare Materialien wie Titan oder hitzebeständige Stahllegierungen bearbeitet. Die Universalmaschinen von GROB eignen sich aufgrund ihrer kompakten Bauweise, ihrer hohen Produktivität und Präzision sowie ihrer optimalen Zugänglichkeit, als Fräs- oder Fräs-Dreh-Bearbeitungszentren hervorragend für Unternehmen aus dem Bereich Aerospace.

Hohe Qualität bei bester Wirtschaftlichkeit

Hinsichtlich der hohen Rohteilkosten und der engen Toleranzen muss in der Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik bereits ab dem ersten Bauteil in höchster Qualität gefertigt werden. Eine besondere Herausforderung für Sicherheitsbauteile stellt die nachvollziehbare Dokumentation der Bearbeitungsparameter sowie der Qualitätsmerkmale dar. Dabei sind die Losgrößen relativ klein, was den Maschinen und Anlagen eine hohe Flexibilität und Rüstfreundlichkeit abverlangt, wie sie die G-Modul-Baureihe bietet. In kaum einer anderen Branche ist damit der Spagat zwischen Wirtschaftlichkeit und Prozesssicherheit größer, als in der Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik. Dieser herausfordernden Komplexität haben sich die GROB-Ingenieure gestellt und mit der Entwicklung der leistungsstarken Universalmaschinen-Baureihe die idealen Maschinen entworfen, um diese Kriterien und gleichzeitig individuelle Kundenanforderungen zu erfüllen. Es lohnt sich bei den unterschiedlichen, spezifischen Ansprüchen genau hinzusehen, um die optimale Wahl für die geeignete Maschinenlösung zu treffen.

Hochdynamische Spindeln für große Werkstoffvielfalt

Höchste Zerspanungsvolumen in der Aluminiumbearbeitung werden mit leistungsstarken Motorspindeln mit Drehzahlen bis 30.000 min-1 erreicht. Mit optimierten Linear- und Rundachsantrieben erreichen unsere Bearbeitungszentren auch in der 5-Achsen- Simultanbearbeitung höchste Bahngeschwindigkeiten. In der Schwerzerspanung von Superlegierungen kommen die drehmomentstarken Motorspindeln zum Einsatz. Kühlmittelanlagen mit frequenzgesteuerten Hochdruckpumpen gewährleisten einen sicheren Prozess. Eine perfekte Späneabfuhr dank der horizontalen Spindelanordnung und optionaler Überkopfbearbeitung machen die G-Baureihe einzigartig.

Bearbeitung einer Turbinenschaufel auf einer G350 – Generation 2

Von Einzelmaschine, über automatisierte und verkettete Anlagen, sowie von Spezialsystemen, bis hin zu schlüsselfertigen Prozessen, bietet GROB der Luft- und Raumfahrtindustrie das passende Konzept. Die Universalmaschinen-Baureihe G350, G550 und G750, optional als Drehfunktion verfügbar, ermöglicht ein extrem breites Anwendungsspektrum von Aerospace-Bauteilen bis zu einem Durchmesser von 1.280 mm.

Die innovativen 5-Achs-Universalmaschinen von GROB ermöglichen Unternehmen aus der Luft- und Raumfahrt die perfekte Zerspanung komplexer und extrem stabiler Bauteile mit unterschiedlichsten Anforderungen, wie zum Beispiel Turbinenschaufeln, Strukturbauteile, Strukturgehäuse oder Bremsklappenbeschläge.

GROB Product Stories

Entdecken Sie unsere Highlights im Video

Auch in Zeiten eingeschränkter Kontaktmöglichkeiten sind wir für Sie da! Mit den GROB Product Stories erhalten Sie regelmäßig digitale Einblicke in unsere neuesten Innovationen und Produkte. Erfahren Sie in unseren Videos mehr über unsere Lösungen für eine effektive und flexible Fertigung.